This Week In Records: Louis Tomlinson, Declan McKenna & Enrique Iglesias (21/07/17)


This week hasn’t been the greatest in terms of new music. A certified dry spell, our biggest single released is a song from another member of One Direction. Albums from Lana Del ReyDeclan McKenna and Tyler, The Creator are what redeem the drought of tracks, along with a new one from Everything Everything. Let’s get into some selected new bits, and hope for some better ones this time next week.

Declan McKenna – What Do You Think About The Car?

The debut album from the 18-year-old – yes, he’s still just 18 – sees a blend of traditional indie and synth sounds, with a feel perfect for your summer playlist. After winning the Glastonbury Emerging Talent competition in 2015, at the mere age of 16, McKenna has gone on to perform there a further two times, and also has festival slots this year at Lollapalooza, Reading and Leeds. The singer-songwriter is also not one to shy away from talking about politics – recent single ‘Brazil’ documents football corruption, whilst ‘Paracetamol’ looks at the struggles faced by trans teens. If you’re looking for some feel-good tracks which also carry some depth, What Do You Think About The Car? is the album for you.

Louis Tomlinson feat. Bebe Rexha & Digital Farm Animals – ‘Back To You’

The onslaught of solo material released in the wake of One Direction’s “break” is almost too much to deal with. After Louis Tomlinson‘s collaboration with Steve Aoki in the winter, he’s back with his first official solo track, featuring Bebe Rexha and production from Digital Farm Animals. Tomlinson’s vocals are the worst thing about this song – compared to Rexha, he feels quiet and unsubstantial. It doesn’t help that the track itself is incredibly forgettable.

Foster The People – Sacred Hearts Club

Everyone will know at least one track from Torches, the album which catapulted Mark Foster and his people into literally everyone’s minds six years ago. Since then, the band has been through second album Supermodel and is now taking a detour from the lightness of summer anthem ‘Pumped Up Kicks’ with number three. The use of heavier instrumentals on Sacred Hearts Club is unlike what has come before, with tracks like ‘Sit Next To Me’ and ‘Pay The Man’ standing out for this reason. An in-depth review of the first three tracks released from the album can be read here.

Enrique Iglesias feat. Sean Paul & Matt Terry – ‘SUBEME LA RADIO REMIX’

After the phenomenal success of ‘Despacito’, a revival of Spanish anthems, as hugely successful during the noughties, seemed just around the corner. If you were hoping for a new one in Iglesias’ English-oriented remix, be prepared to be disappointed. Featuring Sean Paul and 2016 X Factor champion Matt Terry, the track is incredibly obvious in its aims: a rehashing of the original, in an effort to make it relevant again and, unfortunately, it fails in its aims.

Everything Everything – ‘A Fever Dream’


Selected Other Releases


Childhood – Universal High
Dan Croll – Emerging Adulthood
Dizzee Rascal – Raskit
Goldfinger – The Knife
In This Moment – Ritual
Lana Del Rey – Lust For Life
Meek Mill – Wins & Losses
Paul Heaton – She Got The Garden
Sage The Gemini – Morse Code
Steve Aoki – Steve Aoki Presents Kolony
Tyler, The Creator – Flower Boy
Vera Blue – Perennial
Waxahatchee – Out in the Storm


Alice Kristiansen – ‘Lost in Translation’
Arcane Roots – ‘Off the Floor’
Arlissa – ‘New Love’
Azusena – ‘Red Sky’
Babaganouj – ‘Would You Like Me’
Bruno Major – ‘Cold Blood’
Chip – ‘Snap Snap’
Dornik – ‘God Knows’
FACE – ‘Imagination’
Florist – ‘What I Wanted To Hold
Ghosted feat. Kamille – ‘Get Some’
Grizzly Bear – ‘Neighbors’
High Contrast feat. Boy Matthews – ‘The Beat Don’t Feel The Same’
Icarus feat. Talay Riley – ‘Trouble’
JP Cooper – ‘She’s On My Mind’
Justine Skye feat. Jeremih – ‘Back For More’
KREAM feat. Clara Mae – ‘Drowning’
LAYNE – ‘I Want More’
Leland – ‘Mattress’
Lykke Li – Unchained Melody’
Mark Barrott – ‘The Pathways Of Our Lives’
Matt Black – ‘Fake Rose’
Noah Kahan – ‘Fine’
Nothing But Thieves – ‘Sorry’
PRETTYMUCH – ‘Would You Mind’
Raiza Biza feat. Ile Flottante – ‘Lifestyle’
Sara Hartman – ‘Dance With A Ghost’
Search Part Animal – ‘Enemies’
Shania Twain – ‘Poor Me’
Skott – ‘Mermaid’
Sløtface – ‘Pitted’
Slum Sociable – ‘Don’t Come Back Another 100 Times’
Superfood – ‘Unstoppable’
Swimming Tapes – ‘What’s on Your Mind’
TAPZ – ‘Murder Murder’
The Big Moon – ‘Pull The Other One’
The Ninth Wave – ‘Reformation’
The War On Drugs – ‘Strangest Thing’
WSTRN feat. Alkaline – ‘Txtin”
X Ambassadors – ‘Ahead Of Myself’

This Week In Records: Playlist Edition

Follow our shiny Spotify playlist and all this musical newness will be right there in time for breakfast every Friday morning.


About Author


Records Editor at The Edge. Also a third year English and History student who has an unhealthy obsession with Foals.

Leave A Reply